A Journey to Healthy Hair


Hey guys! Lets have a little “hair talk”. Would you believe me if I said I’ve been natural for almost 4 years? It sure doesn’t seem that way though because of my subconscious obsession with damaging my hair. I’ve done so many things to my hair that caused plenty of breakage. If you’re natural you know exactly what I’m talking about. From coloring our hair to faithfully adding heat, we’ve all done it before! If it’s not both, it’s either one. We were sucked into the cruel, CRUEL desire. It feels like every year I’m trimming my hair, not because I’m supposed to, but because my hair is too damaged.

This past year I’ve made a vow to myself that I will not add anymore heat to my hair. I couldn’t promise myself that I wouldn’t put anymore color because I love to switch it up a bit! But I am for sure staying away from heat. I will not fall into the temptation of straightening my hair anymore. I’m so serious about taking care of my hair that I’ve even started writing down each thing. Every product I use, every method, and every style. I’m recording my results so I can know what works for me and what doesn’t. It’s a great way to learn about your hair. You don’t want to force your hair to do something that it doesn’t like.

My hair type is 4CCC, meaning really tight curls. I mean, super tight curls. I believe it’s the reason my shrinkage is out of control. No matter how little or too much moisture I add to my hair, the shrinkage is REAL! Unfortunately, just as easy as it is to absorb moisture, my hair can easily get dry. When my hair gets dry, it feels like sandpaper! During my little journey to healthy hair, I’ve found a couple of things that my hair likes so far.

As of right now I think my hair likes the LOC method: Liquid, Oil, and Crème. For my liquid I use the amazing and the wonderful, good ole water. Raw African Shea Butter is my oil to seal. Then, as my crème (or conditioner), I use Shea Moisture’s Black Castor Oil leave in conditioner. When I tell you all my hair loves this method and the products! Omg! My hair felt great as I combed through it. It also kept my hair moisturized for at least 2-3 days straight. This is only what I’ve learned so far about my hair. I’m pretty sure it will change over the course of this journey.

If you are a struggling naturalista like me, think about keeping a journal of notes about your hair. You will never know, this can probably help you out a ton! I’ve only just started doing this but I’m sure it’ll be worth it in the end.

P.S. there isn’t really a such thing as a 4CCC hair type!

My logo in COLOR

If you haven’t read my recent posts, be sure to check them out!!
My Go-To Makeup Look
Black and Beautiful
Be who you are, love who you are

FOLLOW ME ON:
Instagram
Pinterest

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Journey to Healthy Hair

Leave a Reply

